Pig Racing

When the Fair came to Augusta County, I spent long hours on the grounds and caught several runs of each stunt show. I marveled at the enthusiasm these showmen (The Chainsaw Chix, Hansen’s Spectacular Circus Thrill Show) mustered hourly before packing it in for another day.

Enter: The Swine Master. This guy could have recited his pig racing schtick in his sleep without missing a beat. In Klingon, probably. His wife was a sport about receiving he pigs after each heat and drying off Swifty after a dip, but she must hate Oreos by now.

Photos by Pat Jarrett

About gumshuz

I'm a writer and journalist living in Wyoming. Audio is my passion. My reporting has aired on Naitonal Public Radio, Wyoming Public Radio, BBC/PRI, APM and WAMU. My writing has been published in The News Leader, the Daily News-Record and The Star-Ledger. I deal in Americana and the human condition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

